Thread: hourly rate for a guitar teacher

hourly rate for a guitar teacher

Does anyone know what the going hourly rate for a guitar teacher in a music store is in the northeastern USA?

If it makes any difference, I'm a professional level guitarist.

working in a Music Store if you're contracted by them, no more then 20-30 max an hr I think is probably what you're looking at. Meanwhile most professional level guys with degrees or copious experience make around 50 to higher depending on credentials if they teach out of their own homes/travel.
    Guitarist/Composer/Educator
    Check out my website
    Buy my CD Follow from iTunes

Doug,

I also saw your post at the acoustic guitar forum and neglected to reply. I charge $16.50 per half-hour, double that for an hour. I know many charge more, but I think that's about right for the local economy.

I do give roughly a 10% discount for students willing to prepay for a semester at a time. My semesters vary with the year but roughly follow the school year and local school calendar. I also have a summer session but usually take July off.

I'd say the average is 20-25 a half hour.

Guitarist, Brewer, Über Geek Scott Abene's Avatar
    Here are my 2 cents...

I have been a teacher through a store that taught 50-65 students a week and/or I have been a private teacher most of my adult life.

While at the store I made $15 an hour (mind you that was 1983-1986). So I would figure $20/hr these days with the economy. Usually store lessons are 30 minutes and if the student does not show chances are you will not get paid.

as far as private lessons go...

If you have no experience I would stay in the $15-20/hr range.

If you have experience teaching and can pick and choose your students... and you have what is considered a good reputation as an intermediate/advanced teacher I would imagine that you should be asking $30-35/hr

I think that John Horne is right in line here.

Now some other facts/considerations