Thread: Teaching Different Age Groups

Musician Author Educator Jeff Brent's Avatar

Teaching Different Age Groups

The youngest I will take is four years old. They must be able to both recognize and reproduce all their letters and numbers.

As a trained teacher, I am quite aware of the differences between teaching:

1. 4-8 year olds

2. 8-12 year olds

3. 12-15 year olds

4. 16-18 year olds

5. 18-60 year olds

6. 60+

(the subdivisions above are purely subjective)

These differences include (but are not limited to):

1. Ability to focus and concentrate (attention span)

2. Physical abilities (muscle control)

3. Retention abilities (brain memory and muscle memory)

4. Interests (styles of music)

5. Average length of time to master concepts (how fast they learn)

6. Motivational techniques (maintaining interest)

7. Fun versus Hard Work (maybe related to point 6 above)

And there are probably a few more that don't come immediately to mind right now.

So, I envision this thread to be more about HOW to teach rather than WHAT to teach.

Naturally, I have a lot of my own opinions to relay based on my experience, but for now I just want to start the ball rolling ...

I haven't had my coffee yet, but here's an observation, at least with guitar:

When boys hit puberty I think they become a lot more interested in their own identity and expressing themselves (or just being a cool guitar player,) and they'll get a lot more motivated to play on their own.

For most kids, before the 12/13 mark, the guitar may just be another activity that they do, and it holds no real special meaning.

Once they reach that age I also think they become able to listen to something and really "feel it" on a deeper level.

Since I started playing guitar when I was twelve, I wasn't aware of this huge difference. And my first few years of teaching kids under ten or so were pretty bad. I pushed them too hard, I expected too much interest, I got dissapointed and frustrated too easily.