Thread: Recommended Real Book songs

Recommended Real Book songs

I have an audition in February for the National Youth Jazz Orchestra of Scotland and I have been asked to choose two songs from the real book to perform and solo over, but I'm new to jazz and don't know what songs are best in the realbook. The songs must be contrasted and I need to let them know by January 8th.

If anyone could help I'd be very grateful. Thanks

ask your teacher what songs you might be likely to solo over successfully with such short preparation time. from those, pick tunes you are familiar with and like.

Piano/Compose/Arrange engelbach's Avatar
    Quote Originally Posted by PT_Cruiser42 View Post
    I have an audition in February for the National Youth Jazz Orchestra of Scotland and I have been asked to choose two songs from the real book to perform and solo over, but I'm new to jazz and don't know what songs are best in the realbook. The songs must be contrasted and I need to let them know by January 8th.

Keep it simple. Do familiar tunes that are easiest to show your solo chops with.

Ballad: Lament by J. J. Johnson (written by a trombonist for the trombone)

Latin: Blue Bossa

Swing: Autumn Leaves
    Jerry Engelbach, piano/arrange/compose
    Engelbach Music
    Weaver of Dreams
    Artwork

Black Orpheus/Manha de Carnaval is another really nice & easy latin tune to play. Theres a brief key change to D minor at one point, and if you play a B-flat there (b5, b9 of the 2 and 5 chords, respectively), you'll sound like a genius.

Later on, I'll post some of the Jury lists from my school, which might help narrow down your search.

Autumn Leaves
    Blue Bossa
    Body and Soul
    Cherokee
    Emily
    Mr. PC
    Oleo
    Ornothology
    So What/Impressions
    Straight No Chaser
    Every Day I Have The Blues
    How Insensitive
    Moon River
    My Romance
    Rhythm-a-ning
    All The Things You Are
    Billie's Bounce
    Black Orpheus
    Footprints
    Green Dolphin Street