Thread: Help for a musically illiterate fan understand Wes Montgomery?

Registered User Honest Marsh-wiggle's Avatar

Help for a musically illiterate fan understand Wes Montgomery?

(So I'm next to musically illiterate, but I've been enjoying the world of jazz for a few years now. Consequently I have read some music theory, and been exposed to the normal discussions in liner notes and commentaries. But I'm still both curious and clueless about many aspects of music.)

I'm trying to understand Wes's use of "octaves" and "block chords"... What made them so difficult? What should I be listening for to tell the difference? I know what an octave is, but what was he doing with them that was special? Is using these techniques still considered outstanding, or have they become part of normal jazz-guitar playing?

Thanks for any help.
    -Luke

Quote Originally Posted by Honest Marsh-wiggle View Post
    have they become part of normal jazz-guitar playing?
    Yes.

(So I'm next to musically illiterate, but I've been enjoying the world of jazz for a few years now. Consequently I have read some music theory, and been exposed to the normal discussions in liner notes and commentaries. But I'm still both curious and clueless about many aspects of music.)

I'm trying to understand Wes's use of "octaves" and "block chords"... What made them so difficult? What should I be listening for to tell the difference? I know what an octave is, but what was he doing with them that was special? Is using these techniques still considered outstanding, or have they become part of normal jazz-guitar playing?

Thanks for any help.
    He plays a note an its octave simultaneously, strumming with his thumb. If you listen to his playing youll hear how it gives a fuller sound. If you have a guitar, try it out!
    http://taimapedia.org/index.php?title=Timelines

Registered User Honest Marsh-wiggle's Avatar
    Thanks guys.
    -Luke

Fans of Wes might like this site:

http://www.wesmontgomery.com/