|
||||||||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|
||||||||||||||||||
|
|||||||
| About the Bulletin Board Questions, comments, and recent changes to forums.allaboutjazz.com |
![]() |
|
|
Thread Tools | Display Modes |
|
|
#1 |
|
AAJ's Barrel Roller
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
|
Malware Again
hey all,
it appears these hackers will never go away. can you please let me know if you are receiving malware warnings on the bulletin board, at All About Jazz the website and at Jazz Near You the website? thanks. |
|
|
|
|
|
#2 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,571
|
No actual warnings for me (yet) but the problems with slow loading/hanging returned (for one day only). Thankfully this was nowhere near as awful as what was happening last month.
Since then everything seems OK. |
|
|
|
|
|
#3 |
|
AAJ's Barrel Roller
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
|
hi jackie,
the problem this time around is some people get the malware warnings while others do not. i'm usually the first person to spot malware, but i'm not seeing it across all browsers. |
|
|
|
|
|
#4 |
|
balladeer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,901
|
2 times this week, one just now, I was directed to another site while clicking on a AAJ page. Just now I wanted to read a review of John of a festival and I was redirected to a site called something like tinyurl.com or something.
Sometimes McAfee notifies me through a warning at the top of the screen that there is something wrong with AAJ and that it has blocked parts because of that, but not all the time. The other time this week I wanted to read info on someone and clicked on the info page at AAJ and I got another site as well, can't remember which one. |
|
|
|
|
|
#5 |
|
balladeer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,901
|
Well no one reponded last time but it is happening again. Yesterday and today I was redirected to another website while being at the bulletin board. Yesterday it was at the thread of John and today it was just at the index-main page. Both times I was redirected to this page: http://zehenschuhe.tldserver.de/user/index.php and asked to log in. I didn't of course.
I have up to date anti virus software, McAfee 2013 and I use firefox. I don't know whether it is a malware attack again. Regularly McAfee blocks things at this website and tells me about it at the top of my screen that it has. |
|
|
|
|
|
#6 |
|
AAJ's Barrel Roller
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
|
Page,
I need to clarify... are you being redirected from the bulletin board only or from the website AND bulletin board? |
|
|
|
|
|
#7 |
|
balladeer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,901
|
Hi Michael, I haven't been on the website these last few days, it was just from the bulletin board. Thank you for looking into it.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#8 |
|
Registered User
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Woodshed, CA
Posts: 116
|
malware is tough to deal with because some knows how to bury itself below anti-virus detection. Much auto launches itself on reboot. It a pain to get rid of.
|
|
|
|
|
|
#9 |
|
AAJ's Barrel Roller
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
|
Not much I can do about the bulletin board until we upgrade vBulletin to 4.x.
The website is a different story (as it's custom developed). If you detected Malware there I could act on it. |
|
|
|
|
|
#10 |
|
balladeer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,901
|
Ok, thanks Mike. It happened again after the last time. Any idea when that upgrade will be?
|
|
|
|
|
|
#11 |
|
AAJ's Spammer Exterminator
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London - expat Scot
Posts: 12,121
|
Hi Page,
Tinyurl is a company that takes the occasionally large web addresses and reduces them to a very small size. For example this page has an address of (the display is truncated but the whole address is there -- hover over the address and check the bottom left of your computer screen for the whole address) http://forums.allaboutjazz.com/newre...ote=1&p=618936 Tinyurl would reduce that to, say 10 to 15 digits. The company stores the real URL, and when you click on a tinyurl it takes you there first and then on to the real company. It should be seamless, but some security software objects to being diverted (like mine) and displays warnings. I therefore avoid these reduced size URLs I suspect that this is what you are running into and not a site problem, especially since no-one else has reported it
__________________
Birth Controller to the Jazz Community. (click on the underlined text for more information)
|
|
|
|
|
|
#12 |
|
balladeer
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,901
|
Hi Ian,
no I don't think that was it since this time it wasn't tinyurl, but thanks for the input. |
|
|
|
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
| Thread Tools | |
| Display Modes | |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| A Controversial and/or Informative Site | Saundra Hummer | Current Events | 9047 | March 9th, 2013 04:14 PM |
| Malware Warning | Jay Norem | About the Web Site | 18 | October 15th, 2012 07:19 AM |
| Widgets | Feeds |