jazz
HOME ARTICLES CD REVIEWS NEWS CALENDAR GUIDES MUSICIANS PHOTOS
Welcome Contests Daily MP3 Editorial Calendar Upcoming Releases Videos Contact Us

Go Back   Jazz Bulletin Board > AllAboutJazz.com / JazzNearYou.com > About the Bulletin Board

About the Bulletin Board Questions, comments, and recent changes to forums.allaboutjazz.com

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old November 2nd, 2012, 03:39 AM   #1
xricci
AAJ's Barrel Roller
 
xricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
Malware Again

hey all,

it appears these hackers will never go away.

can you please let me know if you are receiving malware warnings on the bulletin board, at All About Jazz the website and at Jazz Near You the website?

thanks.
__________________


Visit Jazz Near You and All About Jazz
xricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2012, 03:59 AM   #2
Jackie P
Registered User
 
Jackie P's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 2,621
No actual warnings for me (yet) but the problems with slow loading/hanging returned (for one day only). Thankfully this was nowhere near as awful as what was happening last month.

Since then everything seems OK.
Jackie P is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 2nd, 2012, 04:25 AM   #3
xricci
AAJ's Barrel Roller
 
xricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
hi jackie,

the problem this time around is some people get the malware warnings while others do not.

i'm usually the first person to spot malware, but i'm not seeing it across all browsers.
__________________


Visit Jazz Near You and All About Jazz
xricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old November 9th, 2012, 03:33 PM   #4
page
balladeer
 
page's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,913
2 times this week, one just now, I was directed to another site while clicking on a AAJ page. Just now I wanted to read a review of John of a festival and I was redirected to a site called something like tinyurl.com or something.
Sometimes McAfee notifies me through a warning at the top of the screen that there is something wrong with AAJ and that it has blocked parts because of that, but not all the time.
The other time this week I wanted to read info on someone and clicked on the info page at AAJ and I got another site as well, can't remember which one.
page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 10th, 2013, 07:17 AM   #5
page
balladeer
 
page's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,913
Well no one reponded last time but it is happening again. Yesterday and today I was redirected to another website while being at the bulletin board. Yesterday it was at the thread of John and today it was just at the index-main page. Both times I was redirected to this page: http://zehenschuhe.tldserver.de/user/index.php and asked to log in. I didn't of course.
I have up to date anti virus software, McAfee 2013 and I use firefox. I don't know whether it is a malware attack again. Regularly McAfee blocks things at this website and tells me about it at the top of my screen that it has.
page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2013, 07:25 AM   #6
xricci
AAJ's Barrel Roller
 
xricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
Page,

I need to clarify... are you being redirected from the bulletin board only or from the website AND bulletin board?
__________________


Visit Jazz Near You and All About Jazz
xricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2013, 07:51 AM   #7
page
balladeer
 
page's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,913
Hi Michael, I haven't been on the website these last few days, it was just from the bulletin board. Thank you for looking into it.
page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 11th, 2013, 12:52 PM   #8
docbop
Registered User
 
docbop's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Woodshed, CA
Posts: 118
malware is tough to deal with because some knows how to bury itself below anti-virus detection. Much auto launches itself on reboot. It a pain to get rid of.
docbop is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 14th, 2013, 09:19 AM   #9
xricci
AAJ's Barrel Roller
 
xricci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Lansdale, PA
Posts: 10,893
Not much I can do about the bulletin board until we upgrade vBulletin to 4.x.

The website is a different story (as it's custom developed). If you detected Malware there I could act on it.
__________________


Visit Jazz Near You and All About Jazz
xricci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2013, 01:19 AM   #10
page
balladeer
 
page's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,913
Ok, thanks Mike. It happened again after the last time. Any idea when that upgrade will be?
page is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 16th, 2013, 02:19 PM   #11
Tenorman
AAJ's Spammer Exterminator
 
Tenorman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: London - expat Scot
Posts: 12,165
Hi Page,

Tinyurl is a company that takes the occasionally large web addresses and reduces them to a very small size.

For example this page has an address of (the display is truncated but the whole address is there -- hover over the address and check the bottom left of your computer screen for the whole address)

http://forums.allaboutjazz.com/newre...ote=1&p=618936

Tinyurl would reduce that to, say 10 to 15 digits.

The company stores the real URL, and when you click on a tinyurl it takes you there first and then on to the real company. It should be seamless, but some security software objects to being diverted (like mine) and displays warnings. I therefore avoid these reduced size URLs

I suspect that this is what you are running into and not a site problem, especially since no-one else has reported it
__________________

Birth Controller to the Jazz Community. (click on the underlined text for more information)
Tenorman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old March 22nd, 2013, 04:56 PM   #12
page
balladeer
 
page's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: the windmill area
Posts: 4,913
Hi Ian,
no I don't think that was it since this time it wasn't tinyurl, but thanks for the input.
page is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
A Controversial and/or Informative Site Saundra Hummer Current Events 9047 March 9th, 2013 04:14 PM
Malware Warning Jay Norem About the Web Site 18 October 15th, 2012 07:19 AM




Use the All About Jazz content widgets on your website or blog Widgets Subscribe to the All About Jazz RSS feeds Feeds Visit All About Jazz at Twitter Twitter Visit All About Jazz at Facebook Facebook

All times are GMT -7. The time now is 12:13 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.4
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.